Dustin Sorenson Earns United States Modified Touring Series Championship

The crowning of the 2022 USMTS National Champion becomes official after the checkered flag waves and the path to the title is simple math: 81+19=100 (thousand dollars).

No title is more sought after in dirt Modified racing than that of USMTS National Champion. In fact, only eight drivers have done so.

Make that nine as 21-year-old Dustin Sorensen will—barring an act of God or nuclear war—become the youngest champion since Ryan Gustin in 2011.

This year’s champ will earn the richest paycheck in series history as $100,000 is going back to Rochester, Minnesota, along with the first Leon Ramirez Trophy which will be awarded to every champion from now until the USMTS ceases to exist.

Affectionately called “The Leon,” the trophy is a homage to Leon Ramirez, who passed away February 19 after a long, hard-fought battle with cancer.

MB Customs Race Cars has already clinched the Miller USMTS Manufacturers Championship and this year’s Compstar/JE Pistons USMTS Engine Builder of the Year Award belongs to Kentucky-based Cornett Racing Engines.

Meanwhile, the season-long FK Rod Ends Hard Charger of the Year Award is up for grabs. Mullens leads Sorensen by 10 points heading into Saturday’s finale while Dereck Ramirez, Rodney Sanders and Jason Hughes complete the top five.

The 3rd Annual USMTS Modified Spooktacular at the 81 Speedway in Park City, Kan., wraps up the season on Saturday with the crowning of the 2022 USMTS National Champion after the checkered flag waves.