Russ King Wins Connor Bobik Memorial

Bristolville Ohio driver Russ King made a rare appearance behind the wheel of the RKR #56 Rocket Friday night at Thunder Mountain Speedway and captured the $3000 to win 9th annual Connor Bobik Memorial.

King became the ninth different winner of the Make A Wish Foundation benefit memorial event in honor of young 5 year old Connor Bobik who passed away in 2011 from brain cancer. Over $10,000 was raised for the Make A Wish Foundation keeping Connor’s legacy alive.

A packed grandstands saw Max Blair set Integra Shocks Fast time of the night and win his heat along with King and David Scott. King and Dave Blazavich redrew the front row for the 30 lap Connor Bobik Memorial.

Russ King fired the field at the start of the event and shot into the lead over Blazavich and Mike Wonderling, Blair and Scott. Sixth place starter, Andrew Wylie would go pit side suddenly ending is night. Blair would moved into third on lap five and one lap later take second from Blazavich. King would hit lap traffic by lap 9. Blair would start to reel in the leader and would get beside and pass King on lap 15 but before the leaders crossed the line for lap 16 to be complete, Dylan Fenton would spin in turn 2 and third place running Blazavich made hard contact bringing out the yellow. Blazavich never slowed from the contact with Fenton.

A series of cautions on lap 15 slowed the paced and during the numerous cautions. Lap 19 would see Blair come to a stop in turn one bringing out the yellow as he would go pitside with a flat tire. Lap 20 would see the yellow lights flash again as Michael Lake slowed on the front stretch collecting Doug Eck and Mike Laughard. A lap 22 yellow for Fenton again in turn one spin set up a 8 lap heat race dash to the $3000 finish. King would lead the charge and pull away from the field over the final 8 laps as Blazavich grabbed second from Angeliccihio and Blair would move into fifth on lap 24. Angelicchio and Blazavich battled for second with the the #14 of Angeliccihio taking the second spot. Wonderling and Blair was battling for fourth with the #111 of Blair taking fourth on lap 28.

At the finish it was Russ King picking up his sixth career Zimmer Service Center ULMS Late Model Series win, which ties him with dirt late hall of fame driver, Davey Johnson. Angelicchio took second over Blazavich, Blair, Wonderling, Charlie Powell, David Scott, Doug Eck, Jason Dobson and Ken Schaffer rounding out the top 10.

For additional news visit